Daily Post One Word Prompt – Beach

Beach

The Midnight Hour, Part 6

“Would you like something to drink? Eat?”

“No.”

“I’m real sorry about Mark.  I know he was your friend.”

“Yes.”

“I just need you to tell me what happened.  Your own words.  Take your time.”

“Bobby didn’t do it.”

“Why would that be the first thing you say?”

“Because it’s true.” Tears.

“Don’t worry about Bobby right now. Just tell me what happened.”

“I heard that Bobby and Mark were at The Point. Heard they were arguing.”

“Who told you?”

“A friend. Stacy. We planned to go to the beach tomorrow and she was…”

“She was what?”

“Scared. Scared,  okay.”

“Okay. Why was she scared.”

“Because they were angry. Bobby and Mark never got angry, not at each other.”

“So why were they angry?”

“I didn’t know, not then.”

“When did you know?”

“When I got there, to The Point.”

“You felt the need to go out there, even knowing they were both angry.”

“Yes! It’s wasn’t right. They were never angry, not at each other. Bobby…”

“Bobby, what?”

“Has a temper, okay. But he would never hurt Mark. Mark fell. He slipped and fell.”

“Did you see him slip?”

“No… well, yes, I mean I saw him fall.”

“Where were you? In regards to the boys?”

“What?”

“Where were each of you standing?”

“Bobby would never push Mark. Ever.”

“Where were all of you standing?”

“Mark… Mark had his back to the hill. Bobby was right in front of him.  They were, were, shouting at each other.”

“And you, Mary? Where were you?”

“I was… I was trying to get between them.”

“If you knew that Bobby would never push Mark, why did you feel the need to get between them?”

“I…. I was scared. They were both so mad. I just reacted, okay. I didn’t think….”

A breath.

“Bobby. Didn’t. Do. It.”

“Who were you facing, Mark or Bobby?”

“Why?”

“Who were you facing, Mary?”

“Mark.”

“So couldn’t see Bobby.”

“No.”

“He was behind you.”

“Yes, but it was my fault. I pushed between them. I pushed Mark. I didn’t mean to. It was an accident. I was just so scared. He fell.”

“Okay, that’s enough for tonight. Let me take you home.”

“No.  Listen Bobby didn’t…”

“Enough, Mary.”

“It was me!”

“Enough.”

“I’ll drive you home.”

Far in the distance, the whine of a siren startled the night. The station door slammed.

7 thoughts on “Daily Post One Word Prompt – Beach

  1. Pingback: Daily Post One Word Prompt – The Midnight Hour, Parts 1-6 – A Writer's Life

  2. not for posting, just a note, it would be 2x perfect with just one teeny fix, if you don’t mind my proofreaders eye..the last line should be “Far in the distance…”

    I’ll send another comment more suitable for posting if you like posting them…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Midnight Hour, Parts 1 – 10 – A Writer's Life

Leave a Reply

