JSW Prompt 7-23-2016

77c263268441eae9b09367a8700cadc7

He humphed, looking pointedly away so I’d know he was miffed. As if I couldn’t read him better than ‘Dick and Jane’ any day. But a dreamer needs dreams and, God knows, he needed something.

I wasn’t fine, but no way was I telling. I’d be down, bagged and back in prison by sunset. And that, despite dreams, was so not going to happen.

He needed me out. I needed to be out, so here we were.

I ordered a drink. Gotta love an open bar.

He frowned. “This isn’t a Holiday.”

“Want me to fit in? This is a wealth-of-the-wealthy party. Not having a drink would cause questions.”

Bullshit, but I hadn’t had a drink in five years. I was going to make the best damn use of the time as possible.

“Look, you’re messing my rhythm. Try to look a little less like an ass at a pony show.”

A gaggle of beauties flittered by. I smiled, showing just enough interest to – almost – be rude, but not quite. They giggled and hurried on.

Chances lost and all that.

I surveyed the ball room. My, my, oh my. It’d been too long since I’d seen this much bling in one place. The sight was almost sexual. Not quite,  you understand, but almost. There again, five years.

I sipped scotch. There is a certain dynamic to a ball room. Once known, anything is possible.

“Do you see it?” he whispered.

“Not with you in my ear. We didn’t come as boyfriends.”

Which set him back a few steps.

“You brought me here to save your ass from a serious whooping. Let me do my job.”

While he chewed that, I walked away.

 

One thought on “JSW Prompt 7-23-2016

  1. Pingback: 3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge: Day 1 – onturningpages

Leave a Reply

