Daily Post One Word Prompt – Sacred – 12-4-2016

Sacred

“Is nothing sacred anymore?” I asked. peeved.  I hadn’t meant to show my irritation, but I was much better at promising not to show my emotions than actually not showing them.

“It’s not like it’s a national secret or anything,” Jay replied, looking at me with the look which said he wasn’t interested in anything I had to say on that subject.

Bastard.

Not that I’d ever say that out loud. Jay was one of my best friends, and I didn’t really meant it. He had a point. Nothing was sacred anymore, not when one was a ‘celebrity.’ I should be used to the reality by now.  Not only was my public life the domain of the people but, apparently, my private life was also.

Sighing, I leaned back in the chair.

“I know you don’t want to go,” Jay continued, “but you don’t have much choice.”

I rolled my head to the side to look at him.  “How come nobody does shit like this for your birthday?”

Jay laughed. “I am not a Music God.”

“Phuff. I thought gods didn’t have to do anything they didn’t want.”  But I was smiling. I didn’t want to go to this very public birthday party, didn’t want to deal with the red carpet and the screaming fans and the push and shove of paparazzi. It was, however, part of the job and it was the part that didn’t give a shit if I’d just gotten divorced or not.

“Look at it this way,” Jay pointed out. “If you go out and about, it should dim the rumors over the divorce.”

Just last week, I’d finalized the divorce from my second wife. Another sacred down the drain. My first wife had turned into a jealous psycho and left me. Well, I guess she hadn’t really left since she still stalked me everywhere I went.

Bitch. And that I meant.

“Besides, how many groupies and starlets are going to attempt to crawl into your bed?”

I sat up.  “Dozens, I hope.”

We both rose, bumped fists.

“We got your back, man,” Jay said. “We all do.”

“I know.” And I did. The whole band had my back, had had it, did have it, and would have it.

“I’m going to get dressed,” I said, heading for the stairs up to my room.

“Don’t forget to wear your tux!”

“Bastard!” I shot over a shoulder and this time I did meant it, in a funny buddy kind of way.

Somethings were still sacred after all.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Daily Post One Word Prompt – Sacred – 12-4-2016

Leave a Reply

