FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER- 2017 WEEK #04

The challenge for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner will open early Thursday morning, January 19th. Allow the prompt to take you anywhere you want to go! (Limit your stories to 200 words.)

This challenge is open until 11:00 pm Wednesday night, January 25th, 2017.

Flash Fiction For The Purposeful Practitioner

lad

“Ahummmmm…. hi,” I said, staring at the wildly decorated man before me, thrusting out fists, each finger ringed by a silver skull.

The man stared over his fists; angry eyes.

I took a step back. “I… apologize…. I must…. be at the wrong…..house.”

I wasn’t much on tattoos. Didn’t know much about them; didn’t care. At least he wasn’t pierced out the wazoo. Some of the piercings I’d seen made me want to be sick.

He dropped his hands, grinned. “Come on in, man, you looking for Suzie?”

“Ah….. yes….. I am. Thanks.” I stepped over the threshold, wondering if I was stepping into a madhouse.

He held out a hand.  “Devon, Suzie’s brother.”

“Nate,”  I replied, taking his hand. “Is…. she ready?”

Footsteps clattered down the stairs. Suzie gave me a cheek kiss. “Ready.”

I drew in a breath just as Devon reached back and picked up the gun.

 

8 thoughts on “FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER- 2017 WEEK #04

  1. Such a swing of emotions in a very short amount of time! Apprehension, drawing in and holding breath followed by an exhaled reprieve… and then wham! I really like the way you built and developed this brief and drawn out moment in time. I like your writing style a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

