JSW Prompt 4-25-2017

Feel free to jump in and tackle the prompt yourself. Please keep your posts under 300 words. If you link back to this post, I will re-blog your post to my site.

dc1cf8efec9b154bc77a9b9eb57a4ada
Like yesterday. I was working the job like every Tuesday. Slow like always. Just a few patrons round the bar. Drinking. Drinkers. It was only drinkers this time of day, those that don’t have anything better in their lives.

From behind, Sam (my sanity) said, “You’d do better elsewhere.”

I frowned. “I got a job.” Would have added I liked said job, but lying wasn’t my strong suit, and Sam always knew when I was lying anyway.

Besides, I hated the job and he’d heard me bitch and complain enough about it to know.

“Then why ask the question if you don’t want to hear the answer?”

“Because I didn’t think you would answer. You don’t all the time, remember.”

Sam shrugged. “My contract doesn’t specify.”

“Contract?”

“You think I do this for free?”

I shrugged. “Yeah.”

Sam chuckled. “Sorry, man. You’re paying me by the syllable.”

“The syllable?”

“Four more.”

I said nothing, turned back as a man came up to the bar.

“What can I get you?”

“A new employee.”

“Pardon?”

“I am looking for new employees for my new Club and I was told to talk to you.”

“Really?” I glanced back at Sam.

He winked and disappeared.

3 thoughts on “JSW Prompt 4-25-2017

Leave a Reply

