Word Of The Day 6-1-2017

intenerated

transitive verb

inteneration

noun


Definition

Made tender or soft; softened.

To make tender or sensitive; to soften.


Examples

Thus she contrives to intenerate the granite and felspar, takes the boar out and puts the lamb in and keeps her balance true.
V. Essays. Compensation. 1841

I know not whether I do not too much indulge the vain longings of affection; but I hope they intenerate my heart, and that when I die like my Tetty, this affection will be acknowledged in a happy interview, and that in the mean time I am incited by it to piety.
Life Of Johnson


Origin

The word ‘intenerate’ comes from a Latin word meaning ‘tender’.


Leave a Reply

