I Am Brave – 30 Day Challenge Day 7: 6-15-2017

I Am Heroic!

TODAY’S BRAVE ACT

1. Raise your hands in the air.

2. Breathe into this power stance, own it.
3. Then audibly declare:
   
“I am the hero of my own story!”

TODAY’S JOURNAL PROMPTS

If my life was a movie and it started today, what would the hero do?

What old routines and patterns would the hero break?

What new habits would the hero replace those old habits with?

 

What would I do if my life was a movie and it started today? I think the better question is ‘what would I do if my life started today.’

It is hard to think of myself as a hero. Many of the characters living with/in me are heroic, but would I be able to do the same things? It is safer to think I wouldn’t be a hero. Hero’s are expected to be heroic, to do the things we ‘normal’ folks are afraid to tackle. I am a ‘What-would-I-do-if hero.’ What would I do if I found an abandoned dog. Would I have the courage to run across lanes of traffic to save him? Someone beating their child? Gossip about somebody? Theft? Murder? Or something as ‘normal’ as rudeness. I think I know, but I don’t know for sure.

To read another post on this subject, you can go here: https://athling2001.wordpress.com/2014/07/07/am-i-ready-to-be-just-another-ordinary-hero/

Routines and habits are hard to break. Starting with the ‘What-would-I-do-if hero’ to the ‘I-can’t-do-it anti-hero,’ I want to change all those habits and fears clinging to my soul. Part of the problem is being bi-polar, or is that a way to excuse myself for not changing? I have survived so far. I can look back and see how I have changed and grown – and something not grown – over my lifetime. It’s hard, however, to look forward and see who I will be. Equally hard to judge who I want to be in the future.

I want to stop being afraid of can’t. I want to regain the knowledge ‘I can.’ I can do anything if I believe I can do it. Right? So why is it so hard to believe? I am free of the ‘You-can’t-trust-people-of-my-past,’so how do I break the chains they still have wound around me? I come back to living day by day, minute by minute. I am getting better at this, constantly challenging myself to move beyond my comfort borders. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t, sometimes I fall prey to fear at the last moment.

I look back at some of the things I’ve done in my life and realized how heroic those things were at the time. I didn’t realize it then, of course, not in the terror of the moment, but now those moments are clearer. And in those moments, I see the person I want to be all the time. A see an honest, understanding, brave person who sometimes loses her way and is afraid.

It’s like having two personalities at the same time. One is the ‘normal’ me and the other is the ‘brave’ me. If I can change one thing in my life, it will be to become the brave me, the unafraid me, the hero in my own life each and every moment of my life.


“If you are not the hero of your own story, then you’re missing the whole point of your humanity.”

– STEVE MARABOLI

 

5 thoughts on “I Am Brave – 30 Day Challenge Day 7: 6-15-2017

  1. I am reading this post first thing in the morning. What an inspirations for the day. Recently I saw an exhibit in the Tate Modern gallery in London. It was a huge wall mural covered with photos of gravestones of people who had died trying to save the lives of strangers. In the center the artist had painted “be your own hero” . Seems this is the message I am to see this week. Bravo to you and thank you for this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I have. I think that is what a hero is or should be; an ordinary person who does extraordinary things when they are the right things to do. Great thoughts and a great way to think about heroes.

      Liked by 1 person

    • WOW – what an image! Even thinking about it, I feel overwhelmed – like standing in one of the great cathedrals and looking up at the ceiling. Glad you liked the message and hope it helped you during the week. I am, as you can see, SO far behind on reading and commenting. You’re welcome!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ever notice how whenever you see one of those heroes interviewed on TV, they’ll say something like, “I just did what I knew was right,” or, “Anybody would have done the same thing,” etc…?

    I know a lot of heroes — real, honest-to-God heroes. But most don’t recognize it in themselves. They’ve done things like donate food or time or blood, or simply write a check, buy breakfast for someone, or stopped to give directions or a ride to a lost soul. Or they’ve taken the time to listen to someone who needed to be heard, or committed to let go of something hurtful, or helped or advocated for a child, or… And I know a lot of parents who are heroes-of-the-highest-order in my humbled opinion. But ask any of them if they think they’re “heroes”…

    Heroism isn’t simply confronting fears. It’s just as much about confronting everything else that defines the worst in human character, but that each of us carries around within ourselves — anger, greed, selfishness, pettiness, ego, intransigence, laziness, ignorance… To move beyond is “super” human. To do so in a way that benefits another is to be a “hero.” It’s good to recognize it in others. But I think it’s also important to recognize it in ourselves — and to feel good about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

