Word Of The Day 6-30-2017

Imperdible

(ĭm-pûr’dĭ-bǝl)
adj.

Definition

‘Incapable of being lost

Not destructible.


Example

Perhaps a night outdoors will teach you who’s master in this house, you imperdent, shameless girl!
“The Story Of Waitstill Baxter” by By Kate Douglas Wiggin
I’d shoot myself for the imperdence of the thing if I was goin’ to get well again, but I ain’t.
“Romance of California Life” by John Habberton
I misplaced my remembrall one too many times, so my mum cast a spell on it so it’s imperdible!! Now if only I could remember what that means.


Origin

im- (not) + Latin perdere (to destroy).


 

Leave a Reply

