JSW Prompt Response 10-20-2017 for JSW Prompt 10-16-2017

Feel free to join in and respond to the prompt. Please try to keep your response under 300 words. If you reply, I will re-blog your post to my site (sometimes I am slow, but I get there).

photo by csk

 

The highway seemed to go on forever, straight white lines boundaries of my world. I glanced over at the elephant and the horse. Me. The car. Two stuffed animals. All that was left.

She’d loved that damned elephant. Had cried when I’d given it to her.

Embarrassing, but a guy learns to handle those things.

How was I going to handle things now?

She’d been so pretty.  Ful of light and fun and laughter. My angel. Light of my life.

She’d been all that was left.

Behind me, distant but growing, I heard the sounds of the sirens. If I’d had the courage, I would have put the gun into my mouth and pulled the trigger.

When the cops surrounded me, I pulled to the shoulder. I couldn’t run anymore. I didn’t care anymore.

As they cuffed me, I looked back at my car. At that damned elephant.

This is what you’ve done, it seemed to say.

A State Trooper shoved me into the car, leaned in behind me. “I’m arresting you for the murder of your daughter.”

It was an accident, I wanted to say, but didn’t.

I never said it.

Dreamed of pink elephants ever night in prison.

 

Leave a Reply

