Reena’s Exploration Challenge – Week 38 6-1-2018

Reena’s Exploration Challenge

Welcome to Week 38!

It is a colliage this week. Writers will connect to it easily.

challenge 38

So, let the fingers align to imagination, and bang on the keyboard.  The format can be a a story/poem/rant/anecdotes/journalistic coverage of events/ reflections as usual.

Pour out, and let it flow …. 

LAST WEEK’S ROUND UP

Eugenia at

http://amanpan.com/2018/05/18/habitude-u-turns/

Michael at

http://summerstommy.com/2018/05/19/reenas-exploration-challenge-week-37/

Hecblogger (Amit Agrawal) at

https://playingwithwords.blog/2018/05/18/closure-2/

‘What if we all cared’ at

https://whatifweallcared.wordpress.com/2018/05/20/pt-29-catacombs-and-apparitions/

Reena Saxena at

https://reinventionsreena.wordpress.com/2018/05/24/flippant-formats/


He wasn’t quite positive he was sane, but it was a working hypothesis. Insanity, after all, would be an inconvenience which he didn’t need at the moment. It wasn’t like he talked to himself or anything. He talked to the imaginary people around him, but that was just a hazard of the trade. Who was he to argue? They were friends and one naturally spoke to friends.

“Do you often feel the need to talk to invisible people?”

“I told you, they are friends. All the characters from my books are my friends. Thus  I speak to them. I have to, about their stories. How else am I to write them? Besides the whole issue of being rude.”

“But they are just characters in your books, correct?”

“If you mean are they based on real people, no, they are not. I wouldn’t force real people, who I probably don’t know, to be my friend.”

“Do you see them?”

“Well, yes and no.”

“Yes and no?”

“I do, but nobody else would.”

“Shy, are they?”

“No, not normally, but other people can’t see into my head.”

“So they are all in your head?”

“Yes.” Pause. “And no.”

“How can it be both?”

“They have their own lives like anybody.”

“So they come to visit?”

“Exactly.”

“So all their lives are in your head.”

“No, they have their own lives.”

“Do you know when they come?”

“Of course, they come to talk, to tell me about their lives. It’s not like I have multiple personalities or something.”

The Doctor said nothing.

“Well it isn’t!”

“Do you remember any childhood trauma?”

“No… I mean, of course I had childhood trauma. Doesn’t everybody? But it didn’t give me multiple personalities!”

“Hummmmm.”

He rose and stalked to the window, staring out between the bars. Grey outside and rainy, tears to wash away the world.

When he looked back, the Doctor was gone.

“Good riddance. I always hate it when you come to visit.”

He continued to stare out the window, wondering when dinner trays would arrive.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Reena’s Exploration Challenge – Week 38 6-1-2018

  1. This is one of your best pieces (from what I have read). Especially the line on ‘insanity being a working hypothesis, and an inconvenience not needed now.’ Brava! I have tweeted it, though I did not find your twitter handle linked.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I love that line also. I kept going back and reading it over and over. Had no clue where the narrator was going after that one. I don’t normally tweet. I have a hard enough time keeping up with everything else!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment